Media & archives

HYY awarded several honours at its 144th anniversary on 26 Nov 2012


The Board of the Student Union of the University of Helsinki (HYY) has in its festive meeting awarded several honours for the work benefiting the Student Union. The honours will be awarded at HYY's 144th anniversary at the Old Student House in the evening of 26 November.

The Student Union's badge of honour in the wide blue ribbon is annually awarded to a person or persons who have significantly promoted the Student Union's aspirations and to whom the Student Union wishes to pay homage. This year, the badge of honour in the wide blue ribbon is awarded to Master of Arts Ulla Mansikkamäki and Doctor of Social Sciences Sinikka Salo.

In accordance with Section 4 of the Student Union's badge regulation, the Student Union standard may be granted for a community that has promoted the Student Union's aspirations. The Student Union's standard is awarded to Helsinki University Library.

The badge of honour in a narrow blue ribbon for significant and meritorious activities benefiting the Student Union is awarded to Student of Social Sciences Otto Bruun, Bachelor of Science Markku Hakala, Master of Social Sciences Anne Sophie Hokkanen, master of Arts Elina Norros, master of theology Hannu-Matias Nurmi, Master of Arts  Elina Rydman, Doctor of Science Jouni Sirén and Student of Social Sciences Martti Tulenheimo.

The badge for the long-term and meritorious work benefiting the Student Union of the University of Helsinki is awarded to Marjo Berglund, Tuula Jaatinen,  Maija Jokela, Rispa Kuhlman, Jukka Leinonen, Kirsi Riihilahti, Leena Soini, Arja Teivaistenaho and Ulla Vanhanen. The badge in question is awarded for 20 years of service in the Student Union or the HYY Group.

The Good Teacher – Magister Bonus prize 2012 is awarded to Vice Dean of the Faculty of Behavioural Sciences and professor of educational psychology Kirsti Lonka.

The Student Union of the University of Helsinki is the oldest student union in Finland. Approximately 28,000 undergraduate, graduate and doctoral students of the University of Helsinki are members of the Student Union.