Media & archives

Executive groups of bachelor’s and master’s programmes get 266 new student representatives!


The Student Union has selected new student representatives for the 93 executive groups of degree programmes for their next two-year term, 1 January 2019–31 December 2020. Two actual and two vice members will be representing students in each executive group.

During the fall, a total of 314 bachelor’s and master’s students applied to become a member in an executive group. A part of the degree programmes got more than four applicants and not all of our interested candidates could be selected. The names of the new student representatives proposed by HYY have been published on The Student Union’s website. On another hand, there were open positions left 55 executive groups. The Student Union will organise a further call for applications for these positions in January.

The faculty-specific selection committees have processed the applications during October and made their proposal to HYY’s Board on the persons to be selected to the executive groups. HYY’s Board has made its decision in its meeting on 22 November 2018, and the student members of the executive groups of degree programmes will be confirmed by the dean of each faculty.

Each bachelor’s and master’s programme at the University of Helsinki has an executive group that consists of the director of the degree programme, six other staff members and two actual student members along with their two personal vice members.

The preparation of curricula and deciding on the annual teaching schedule are particularly important influencing places in the executive groups: the groups determine the framework for what courses are taught in the schedule, which studies are compulsory to everyone, how much optional studies can be included in degrees, what kind of study material and teaching methods are used on courses and what methods to complete courses each course has. In addition to this, the executive groups process issues related to student admissions in the degree programme and the use of teaching and facility resources, for instance.

For further information, please contact:

Jenna Sorjonen
Specialist in educational policy